The beginning of our plan


My hope for living in the nature “Satoyama” resides in my heart started many years ago.

 

I had many chances to talk with people inside/outside the country who support themselves with their own farm and minimum level of expense.  They were strong, tough and happy enjoying life.  I started to long for that kind of living.

 

Opportunity arose and I started to work in the forest.  That experience taught me forest conservation firsthand.  Naturally and gradually I started to think “maybe I can start living in nature.”

 

When I started to search for a piece of land in the forest, I thought it would not take much time and come easy.  Internet searching sites for land in the forest or Satoyama were abundant and it was difficult to narrow the search down to specific areas within Chiba Prefecture.  Although I was unexperienced in purchasing Satoyama land, these sites made it difficult to decide whether the land is a fit for me.

 

All I had were ideas to rely on for guidance, but that did not go well.  I couldn’t explain to myself, other, even my wife what I really wanted.

 

“What is my ideal Satoyama life?”

 

Taking a step back after much thought and deliberation about our lives, I realistically began to plan the move to Satoyama.

 

This was the beginning of our Satoyama dream plan.